A Vision of Students Today

The following is a link to a video hosted on YouTube that was created by the same anthropoligist who created the video “The Machine is Us/ing Us” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dGCJ46vyR9o.  This is a great video that has had a lot of influence on the educational system at large. It calls for a rethinking of the educational enterprise in light of current students. An open world of learning is not enough. We need an open world of learning that fits with the way people are learning today. But first we must figure out what current students are like. This video provides just such a insight.

One thought on “A Vision of Students Today

  1. Yes, I agreed, this short video clip well reflecs on what happening in the present education. the poor students get lost in the cyber world, they needs guidance/instruction and someone to coach them.
    The blended learning is good, adopt pedagogy into kids’ lifestyles. However, there should be a balance between the traditional and innovative teaching approaches.

    Well, below I also inserted the transcription of this video my sist. kindly did for me just in case …

    If this wall could talk?
    What would they say?
    If student learn,what they do.
    What are they learning sitting here?
    กำแพงบอกไม่ได้แต่นักเรียนบอกได้

    Today’s child is bewildered
    When he enters the 19th century
    Environment that still characterizes
    The educational establishment where
    Inform is scarce but ordered and structured
    “I did not create my problem by fragment ,classified patterns subjects,
    And schedules”
    Marshall McLuhan 1967
    แล้วก้อถ่ายหน้าจอคอมพ์ ที่กำลังเข้า web google เรื่อง Vision of student today
    แล้ว click ที่ปุ่ม Collaborate
    ก็มีการพิมพ์โน่นนี่นั่น ลงไปที่ หน้า web นี้
    200 students made 367 edits to this document and survey themselves to bring you the following message

    แล้วก้อทีนี้ในห้องเรียนมีนักเรียนนั่งเต็ม แล้วแต่ละคนก้อจะยกกระดาษโชว์ที่ตัวเองเขียน ทีละคน
    – My avage class size is 115
    – 18% of my teachers know my name.
    – I complete 49% of the readings assigned to me, only 26% relevant to my life.
    – I buy hundred dollars textbooks that I never open.
    – My neighbor paid for class but never comes.
    – I will read 8 books this year, 2300 webpages & 1281 Face Book Profiles.
    – I will write 42 pages for class this semester and over 500 pages of E-mail.
    – I get 7 hours of sleep each night!
    – I spend 1 ½ hrs watching TV each night.
    – I spend 3 ½ hrs a day online.
    – I listen to music 2.5 hrs a day.
    – I spend 2 hrs on my cellphone.
    – Spend 3 hr in class.
    – 2 hrs eating.
    – I work 2 hrs every day.
    – 3 hrs studying.
    – That ‘ s a total of 26.5 hrs per day.
    – I am a multi-tasker (I have to be)
    – I weill be $20,000 in debt after graduation!!
    – I’m one of the lucky one.
    – Over 1 billion people makes less than $1 a day.
    – This laptop costs more than some people in the world make in a year.
    – When I graduate I will probably have a job. That doesn’t exist today.
    – คนนี้โชว์กระดาษคำตอบที่เป็นแบบ multiple choice แล้วเขียนว่า
    – Filling this out won’t help me get there or deal with
    I did not create the problem
    But they are my problem
    Some have suggested that technology can save us…..

    I facebook through most of my classes
    I bring my laptop to class , but I’m not working on class stuff

    “ The inventor of the system deserves to be ranked among the best contributors to learning and science, if not the greatest benefactors of mankind”
    Josiah F. Bumstead 1894

    By Michael Wesch
    And the students of introduction to cultural Anthropology class of Spring 2007 Kansas state University

Leave a Reply

